Jointer Questions

/ Jointer Questions #1  

N80

Tractor
Kubota L4400 4wd w/LA 703 FEL
I got a saw mill a few years ago. Mostly for posts, beams, and 2x6 type stuff.

But, I'm also sawing a bit of decent hardwood and starting to do some woodworking. I'm not an experienced woodworker but I have a large lathe that I have some experience with. I have a benchtop planer, a good bandsaw and various other tools. I've built built-in shelves for the house.

Now I have some projects that would benefit from a jointer. I'm not deep enough into woodworking to buy a floor standing jointer. The bench top ones do not inspire much confidence and I may be edge jointing some long (7-8' boards).

Anyway, there is a 6" Delta floor standing jointer on Craig's list near by. It is an older model and made in the US. Guy says "it works". It is about $350. Problem is that the blade guard is gone and I don't see any such parts available for this model anywhere on the internet.

I like have reasonable safe guards on my tools and equipment so I'm leary.

Wondering what more experienced woodworkers think about operating a 6" floor standing jointer with no blade guard.

/ Jointer Questions #2  
NO! As this type of machine is quite dangerous. The gruad swings away as needed to allow the board to slide past. Find one complete or save and buy new. Drizzly often has some good sales.

/ Jointer Questions #3  
If you adjusted the fence to the width of the board so there’s no exposed cutter it would be relatively safe. Or most jointer guards just fit in a round hole. Something else would probably fit. But I’ve seen 6” jointers with all the parts for $350.

/ Jointer Questions #4  
Wondering what more experienced woodworkers think about operating a 6" floor standing jointer with no blade guard.
I would not use one without guards in place. Heres a pretty good article about them

/ Jointer Questions #5