Kubota 28hp engine won't shut off

/ Kubota 28hp engine won't shut off #1  

GSP9

Tractor
L3400
Thought this might be the best place to post this..........I have a 2007 Toro Groundsmaster with a Kubota 28 hp engine (D1105) with 620 hours on it. About a month ago it wouldn't start. I would just get one loud click from the starter when I turned the key. Ended up replacing the starter and the battery and all was good for the next month. A few nights ago I went to start it and got the same thing. Every time I turned the key I would get one loud click and then nothing. Once I got the initial loud click, if I kept turning the key back and forth the gauge lights were very weak and it wouldn't engage the starter or no loud click. If I jiggled the positive battery cable it would reset itself and once I turned the key I would again get that one loud click from the starter but it wouldn't engage the flywheel.

I pulled the starter and once it was off the mount, it wouldn't click anymore when I turned the key. But the solenoid stop would now make almost the same loud click. So I started looking at the battery cable and figured I would work back from there. Where the cable was connected to the clamp looked a little corroded and since I had enough slack I cut off an inch and reclamped it to the clamp. It started right up on the first key turn so I thought I was back in business. The problem is, now it doesn't want to shut off when the key is turned to off. When it starts up, even though it is set to idle, it runs full throttle and smokes pretty good. Since the hood was up I was able to pinch the fuel line to get it to stop. Electrical is not my strong suit but the harness to the solenoid stop is getting 12 volts according to the multimeter.