Oil & Fuel L3400 oil leak...

/ L3400 oil leak... #1  

Pirwin21

Tractor
2007 Kubota L3400 HST
Have had my L3400 for about two weeks, have done some mowing and some tilling with it and it has worked very well. Garaged it for the first time last weekend and I looked under it yesterday and there was a small puddle of oil. The puddle is located approximately under the seat of the tractor. Any ideas as to what this could be? I'm a complete novice when it comes to things mechanical... Is this an easy fix? or am I going to have to get the dealership to look at it? Bought it out of state and am trying to prolong letting my local dealership know that he didn't get my business.

/ L3400 oil leak... #2  
There are a few possibilities that come to mind. I'd think a 2007 would have the new sight glass but the earlier sight glasses have been a leaking problem. On the HST, there are two filters under the floor that might not have been tightened properly. If you have a loader and it was just installed, the fittings on the hydraulic block may leak, mind do a little. Usually this kind of stuff is an easy fix, not always though.

Other than that, there are still drain plugs down there and other local hoses and seals that could leak but aren't the probable, obvious sources. There could be major stuff like cracks or casting flaws but don't worry about that yet.

Take a closer look, find the leak, post a picture if you don't know what your looking at, let us know what you find. Goodluck!

/ L3400 oil leak... #3  
x2 on what he said above.

make sure the little sealing washers are on the drain plugs as well, they sometimes like to fall in the drain pan when doing oil changes.

if you don't find anything, clean it extremely well and start looking for casting flaws. And see if maybe it's running down the side, or a hose from somewhere else.

I've got one in my bay right now that I'm having to replace an axle housing because a hairline crack formed.

/ L3400 oil leak...