loaned new trailer - broken axle

/ loaned new trailer - broken axle #1  

rcrcomputing

Platinum Member
Tractor
Kioti ck30
Ok, I did a no-no and loaned my trailer to a bussiness that I am great friends with. (Very good bussiness relationship).
Anyhow, It is an 18' dovetail, bran new. I'm new to trailering and haven't even tried to hook my kioti up on this thing yet. Well, it seems the guys in the shipping department overloaded the trailor and broke the axle. They've taken it to a trailer place for repairs (before I even knew it happened) and am shure will do everything they know to do to repair it.

Now then, It'd be nice to know what to check out when I get it back, and what to watch for when I load the kioti on it.. Hauling my 30hp tractor with the backhoe on it will be intimidating enough for me. Now I get to wonder about the trailer.. :)

/ loaned new trailer - broken axle #2  
If your trailer was overloaded to the point of breaking an axle, I'm sure there is other damage like springs overstressed, frame bent and what ever else. I hope they are good with you for your kindness. I have a trailer I am working on and a good friend of mine already asked to borrow it ? That will not happen, if I can buy one, he can buy one or I will be more than happy to do for him with the trailer whatever he needs done
Thats just me
Jim:)

/ loaned new trailer - broken axle #3  
Broke the axle? Hmmm, well there just aren't many moving parts on these things so I would have to assume that they snapped the spindle off the axle and the whole wheel fell off taking the brakes with it.

Be sure to find out how it was repaired. I would insist on a replacement axle assembly which is really quite cheap. You gave it to them new and it should be new when it comes back.