Looking for bush hog/rotary mower

/ Looking for bush hog/rotary mower #1  

TheMan419

Veteran Member
Tractor
New Holland Boomer 24
Greetings oh great brain trust....

I am new to the world of tractors. We have purchased an 18 acre plot. The plan is to build a barn and have horses. We currently own 3 and are bringing them home.

So I will need a bush hog to do the pastures a few time a year as well as maintain a meadow and possibly some trails we plan to cut through the 4 or so acres of woods.

I have a NH Boomer 24. I'd like to get a used hog rather than spend the big bucks on a new one.

There is a local "dealer" of used implements down the road. By dealer I mean he has a bunch sitting out in his yard and sells them. I cannot find anywhere that he advertises.

I am thinking 4 ft to 5 ft mower width. Any wider and I do not think I would have the power for it.

What are the critical questions that I ask of him to determine if the mower will work?

Note that I do have a buddy that is very mechanically inclined. He will go a long with me for the look see and possible purchase transaction. I fully expect that this mower will come with a "tail light" warranty .... meaning when the seller can no longer see my tail lights the mower is out of warranty.

Thanks for any advice.

/ Looking for bush hog/rotary mower #2  
OST I am needing same info so I will see what answers you get

/ Looking for bush hog/rotary mower #3