Looking to upgrade to about 50 HP machine, engine displacement question

/ Looking to upgrade to about 50 HP machine, engine displacement question #1  

wreckedit

Tractor
Kubota L3130
Question for engine experts: I am looking to get a new 50 HP or so tractor. Have a good Kubota and another Kioti dealer near me. When I compare specs, the Kubota 50 HP engine in MX 5200 is about 148 cubic inches, while the Kioti DX 55 HP or so is about 114 cubic inches. Both are turbocharged. That seems like a big difference. Since the HP numbers are very similar, should I care about displacement? Absolutely positively do not want to compare brands, just the theory of displacement. I like both machines a lot.
Thanks.
Rich

/ Looking to upgrade to about 50 HP machine, engine displacement question #2  
I am no engine expert, but I would have to think the "smaller" engine is using every bit of its power, and likely working harder. I would wonder about an exhaust temperature comparison.

Last edited:
   / Looking to upgrade to about 50 HP machine, engine displacement question #3  
According to tractordata the MX5200 has a 2.4L 148.6 cu in engine.
The Kioti DK55 has a 2.2L 134.1 cu in engine not 114 you listed.
That's not so much difference. Proper tuning, fuel and air adjustment make them achieve similar HP.
I can only guess you meant DK55 instead of DX55.

/ Looking to upgrade to about 50 HP machine, engine displacement question
Hi I just read the NX specs, which is also a 55 HP kioti, and it said 111 cubic inches.
Am I reading something wrong?
This was from Kioti website, mayube an error?

/ Looking to upgrade to about 50 HP machine, engine displacement question #5  
An old racing saying is "There's no replacement for displacement".

That's not quite as true today. A lot of the HP is achieved with bolt ons such as turbos. It's also achieved in the heads/valving.