Maintenance of a MF 327 sickle mower

/ Maintenance of a MF 327 sickle mower #1  

sbmullan

Tractor
Massey Fersuson 35x
Hi there

I've registered on behalf of my father who has a MF 327 sickle mower. see link for pictures

Picasa Web Albums - 10533237387750131... - Massey Fergus...

Has anyone got any knowledge of this piece of machinery which might help us getting it cutting more efficiently. There's a fair amount of play where the drive shaft :)confused:) attaches to the blade and my dad reckons that it is creating too much slap as the blades close to it slide back and forth. I assume that this is as a result of wear and that replacement parts would be needed to tighten up this mechanism. He also intends adjusting the shims along the blade.

Where would you start to look for replacement parts for equipment like this (total newbie)?

Based in Ireland BTW

/ Maintenance of a MF 327 sickle mower #2  
:welcome:

Ireland should have some farm shops and equipment dealers that handle the parts for sickle mowers.

Ken Sweet (sweettractors) will be along and is one of the guru's that can add some help. Sounds like worn parts and that is normal for sickle bar mowers. The slap may be normal, and then again, it may come from worn parts.

The pics show it to be in pretty fair shape. The "drive" is called the pitman arm and should have a firm grip on the sickle cutting bar with the knives.

/ Maintenance of a MF 327 sickle mower #3  
Adjusting the shims and toe clamps on the cutter bar will help. The sickle should be sharp and have good under serrations on the cutting sections. The rock guards should have good ledger plates in them with good serrations on those as well. If the ball is wore on the end of the sickle where the pitman attaches, a new drive head may need to be put on the sickle. Make sure the end shoe has a good ledger plate in it. Ken Sweet

/ Maintenance of a MF 327 sickle mower