mashed / squished push rods

/ mashed / squished push rods #1  

clinter36

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota L4850
Hello,

I purchased a non-running skid with a Shibaura N844LT engine (2L 4 cyl). Also a Cat 3024c and Perkins something.

As I am just getting into the engine, it appears all of the push rods are mashed at the ends. The tips look to be blue ish from overheating also (see pic)

IMG_4616[1].JPG

I am curious if anyone can tell me the possible cause of this... ? ether? or possibly filling the oil too fast and hydro-locking (owners manual warns of filling the oil too fast as it will flow into the intake)

I guess I should pull the head and have it rebuilt while replacing the push rods. Does anyone think the damage could have extended into the bottom end of the motor or do you think I am OK with heads? Obviously I will have to inspect the pistons more when I pull the heads.. I would like to avoid pulling the entire engine if I can do just the top end work.

Thanks for the input.

/ mashed / squished push rods #2  
Hydro-locking normally bends connecting rods. When you pull the head, check your piston to deck height on all cylinders for bent rods. Push rod damage mostly happens when the valves contact the pistons. If all the push rods are damaged, I would look at the timing gears between the crankshaft and camshaft.

/ mashed / squished push rods #3  
Timing chain or belt break or if direct gears, missing tooth or gears not meshing?
That would cause such a massive overlap easily

/ mashed / squished push rods #4  
To me it looks like the push rods are blue from the welding process during manufacturing. It's common for industrial push rods to have a bell on one end and a ball on the other. Take it to a dealer or an overhaul shop and a mechanic should be able to tell you what is normal for that series of engine.

/ mashed / squished push rods