Comparison massey ferguson 231s review

/ massey ferguson 231s review #1  

deiselfreak

Tractor
2012 john deere 1023e
massey ferguson 231s vs john deere 1023e

I need help guys..... I'm looking to upgrade my john deere 1023e to a bigger tractor. A guy got ahold of me and wants to trade me a 2000 massey ferguson 231s. I know it's a 2 wheel drive but it weighs 3 times as much as the deere. It will primarily be used for plowing snow and running a disk and cutting 4 acres of grass. The one I'm looking at has 108 hrs on it, has a brush hog and loader. The guy wants $12000 for it. Seems kind of a lot for its age. Does anyone know mich about this tractor? Dependability?

Last edited:
   / massey ferguson 231s review #2  
I have a 1998 MF231 (not s). My father bought it new in 99, I've been using it on the same ground since he passed in 2004 and have now 1092 hours on it. I've had no problems other than my own I've caused (i.e., bad alternator because I let diesel drip down on the alternator). It's rugged tough machine that I put through the ringer bushhogging approx 20 acres, about 4 acres of plowing for deer green fields, mowing with a finishing mower on about 8-9 acres.

To me, that price is good because of the low hours, and he can probably get that price if he's not in a hurry. I'd offer him an even $10k if you're interested in it and see if he bites.

/ massey ferguson 231s review #3  
I would be highly highly suspect of the hours on the Massey. 15 years and only 100 hours?

/ massey ferguson 231s review #4  
I'd need the full story on 108 hours. 231 isn't a bad little MF, slowish hydraulics unless aux pump, and 8F 2R trans lacks decent reverse speeds for loader work, but is basically a bullet proof trans. Perkins diesel will run forever on diesel. Have the same engine in a 240, might burn 2 gallon a day haying...

/ massey ferguson 231s review