Montana 4944

/ Montana 4944 #1  

Capt Windmill

Tractor
Montana 4944 - Ford 8n
This is my first time using my tractor with a 6 foot field mower. I have gone through 4 shear pins in one afternoon. As I let the clutch out to engage the pto I hear a bang and shortly there after the pin is broke. Could someone tell me what speed and gear to use to rectify this problem. Yea I'm a rookie.
Thanks.
Rob

/ Montana 4944 #2  
Capt Windmill said:
This is my first time using my tractor with a 6 foot field mower. I have gone through 4 shear pins in one afternoon. As I let the clutch out to engage the pto I hear a bang and shortly there after the pin is broke. Could someone tell me what speed and gear to use to rectify this problem. Yea I'm a rookie.
Thanks.
Rob

make sure you are starting the pto at low rpm. If you start it at to high rpm you put much stress on your pto and other parts and that leads them to break. Once you get it going at lower rpm you should run the brush hog at whatever rpm you get 540pto speed. I usually run my slightly lower around 2100-2200rpm. As for gear use what ever you feel safe. You can go faster in shorter grass slower in tall grass. Just pick a gear that doesn't bog down the tractor to much. If this does not help I am not sure what the problem is. Also you might want to invest in a slip clutch if your mower doesn't have one it will save you money in the long run as you will not damage your tractor if it works correctly.

/ Montana 4944
JDEEREKID

Thank you for the info.

/ Montana 4944 #4