Oil & Fuel my 1990 855 is leaking

/ my 1990 855 is leaking #1  

rkboyer911

Tractor
JD 855
im VERY new to the tractor world and I just bought me an 855 with a 72" mmm with and about 1000 hours on it....I brought it home and it has 2 leaks...1 is the valve cover on the exhaust side and the other one is the power steering cyl. are these comon?? im kinda afrade to tighten them and mess somthing up....is there orings that can be replaced on the steering? and should I try to tighten the 3 bolts on the top of the valve cover....thats all I seen that holds it on....thanks so much!! im loving it other than the 2 leaks!! only other things Ive found is the light switch is bad along with the hour/tach meter.... thanks in advance

/ my 1990 855 is leaking #2  
im VERY new to the tractor world and I just bought me an 855 with a 72" mmm with and about 1000 hours on it....I brought it home and it has 2 leaks...1 is the valve cover on the exhaust side and the other one is the power steering cyl. are these comon?? im kinda afrade to tighten them and mess somthing up....is there orings that can be replaced on the steering? and should I try to tighten the 3 bolts on the top of the valve cover....thats all I seen that holds it on....thanks so much!! im loving it other than the 2 leaks!! only other things Ive found is the light switch is bad along with the hour/tach meter.... thanks in advance

When you say the steering cylinder is leaking... where exactly is it leaking from? Around the rod? or where the lines connect to the cylinder? If it's around the rod, then the internal cylinder seals are shot. Unfortunatley, this is not a serviceable cylinder. About $300 for a new one from JD. If it's leaking at the lines, those fittings are ORB or ORFS (can't remember which off hand) and the o-rings can be replaced.

/ my 1990 855 is leaking