Need info on rotary tiller for my specific needs

/ Need info on rotary tiller for my specific needs #1  

Rob41

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota M7040
I know there have been similar posts but I couldn't really find what I need to know. I'm new at this and tend to jump in with both feet but given the cost of attachments, I need to lean on your collective wisdom.

Tractor-Kubota M7040-61 PTO hp
Use-Till 400'x100' garden and about 3-4 acres of several food plots
Soil-I have not had it tested but I can see its a pretty good mix that has some sand and might have very small amount of clay. Even at my age I was able to dig several 18" diameter holes with a post hole digger for trees.

I know, small potatoes compared to most of you. So these areas have all been previously tilled at least in the last 2-3 years. I've been looking at a 7' unit that's about $4,600 and rated for 50-85hp. Not sure if I should post since they are a sponsor here.

So my questions are with my limited use, would I be just as well served with a lesser unit? Also, I'm just assuming I want a rotary tiller this wide so it goes beyond the width of my tractor.....is that correct? From what I understand, if I want it for next spring I may need to order now.

I'd really appreciate any input or even specific tiller suggestions.

/ Need info on rotary tiller for my specific needs #2  
for what you have to till get as big a tiller as you can handle.

you might also look at Betstco tillers. They have 3 grades of tillers.

Free shipping and work really well. Quite happy with mine

/ Need info on rotary tiller for my specific needs #3  
So my questions are with my limited use, would I be just as well served with a lesser unit?

Till 400'x100' garden and
3-4 acres of food plots.

You will need a heavy weight roto-tiller behind your M in the food plots, both for penetration of unworked ground and for strength when encountering inevitable roots and corms under the soil surface.