New Owner of a Kioti LB2204

/ New Owner of a Kioti LB2204 #1  

RandR10

Silver Member
Tractor
Kioti LB2204
Hey everybody. I just became the proud new owner of an LB2204. Tractor seems to be in overall serviceable condition. It goes through all the gears, hi and lo ranges, 3-point lift works, PTO works at both speeds, and there's a pin missing in the 4wd linkage, but everything looks good there. Hydraulics are a little tired, but for now they'll do what I need. The engine is on its last leg though. Massive blowby with smoke visible out the vent tube and sounds like it may be down a cylinder. I'm fairly new to diesel engines (my first was a 7.3 IDI 2 years ago that I have since sold), so they all sound like they're going to throw a rod to me, but this one seems to have an especially loud clack to it, so I'm a little worried the crank might be toast from a spun rod bearing/knock. Could be top end noise I'm not sure. I found the following thread, but it's been dead so long, wanted to start a new thread about this.

So from what I can gather this tractor was nearly identical or identical to the Kubota L-series tractors from this era since Kioti made the Kubota gearboxes and sheetmetal at the time. Based on that thread, I'm gathering that the Dae Dong and Kubota engines are so close that even the oil pan will interchange? The D1402 he swapped in is a bigger displacement engine than the DH1101-b that's supposedly in there now, but the fact that they're so close gives me a little hope for my predicament.