new to tractors...please help

/ new to tractors...please help #1  

doublez

Hello all,

I am not new to operating tractors, but am new to owning one and I am ready to purcase one for my new residence. I plan on mostly grading my driveway, pushing snow, light debris removal, etc....

I have considered either a Kioti (mistake) or the equivalent Kubota. The main differences are $4,000 and the Kubota is a hydrostatic. How much of a difference will the hydro make? Do you folks think the Kioti is a mistake?

Thanks for taking the time to help,

ZZ

/ new to tractors...please help #2  
doublez, I don't know anything bad about a Kioti, or maybe I should say I haven't heard anything bad about them. I have no personal experience, so really don't know anything one way or the other. I do believe resale would be better on Kubota, John Deere, or New Holland. And if you search through the old messages, you'll find some people who prefer geared tractors, but I think the vast majority of us have a strong preference for the HST. With compact tractors, and especially if you intend to do a lot of maneuvering and changing directions, the HST will let you work faster, easier, and safer. I can certainly understand wanting to save $4k, but personally, I'd give $4k more for a Kubota with HST than a Kioti without it.

Bird

/ new to tractors...please help #3