Newbie Wondering if Dealer Gave me Bad Advise

/ Newbie Wondering if Dealer Gave me Bad Advise #1  

Dan_Martin

I'm a newbie posting for the first time and need some advice regarding what my dealer told me. In the near future I will be purchasing an L3130 (HST with Ag tires), FEL (LA 723 Quick Attach), and a Woods 60 inch rotary cutter. My main purpose will be mowing 12 acres of field/pasture (mostly flat with no obstacles), keeping my driveway clear of snow, and the many other uses I will find for FEL work. Not heavy work, mostly light-duty stuff. I asked my dealer if I should have my rear tires filled. He told me no. He said whenever I am doing FEL work I would need to have the rotary cutter attached for stability, but he recommends NOT filling the tires because it gives the operator the choice when he wants extra ballast and when he doesn't. His reasons were as follows:

1. The L3130 is heavy enough without adding extra weight to the tires which I would need when doing FEL work. Hanging a box blade or my rotary cutter off the back gives me the extra weight I need when doing FEL work while allowing me to remove the extra weight when I really don't need it.
2. The liquid they put in (a salt solution) is quite corrosive to tire rims.
3. The spraying liquid poses a dangerous situation to the operator if he gets a flat tire.
4. Extra cost involved for filling tires.

His reasoning seemed to make sense to me, but from reading the many posts on this forum, it sounded like most people have their rear tires filled. Will I find it a hassle to always have a box blade or rotary cutter attached when using the FEL? Will I experience traction problems? And if I do, wouldn't a set of tractor chains solve the problem? Am I missing something obvious due to my inexperience?

/ Newbie Wondering if Dealer Gave me Bad Advise #2