Comparison newbie

/ newbie #1  

louisianaswampman

Tractor
john deere 950 2wd
hey y'all! I'm new to looking at tractors and plan on purchasing one here very soon. i have a older john deere 950 (hamidown) and its just about crapped out. I'm looking at purchasing a new mahindra or kubota. I'm asking a favor from you guys on who recommends which one may be better in terms of long lasting and easy to take care of. i have 60 acre pine plantation that i bush hog the roads and food plots in and i purchased another 7 acre field as a home site, and will also be keeping up another 10 acre field now the we don't own cattle anymore. so my question is.

.Mahindra 4025 2wd, no loader, and a disk and bush hog.
.kubota 38 hp package with the loader, bucket, grapple bucket, and a bush hog.

can anyone suggest the pros and cons? which may be best for my situation?
thank you!

/ newbie #3  
:welcome: from Ohio.

I would recommend that you get the FEL at least. I looked at various tractors that were second hand and without a FEL for years. I always felt I might as well get the largest MTD piece of crap than pay an extra $2-3K for a large mower but had no other advantages.

/ newbie #4  
i also vote for FEL. also grapple. and 4wd.

/ newbie #5  
Which Kubota are you looking at, the L3800? Kubota and Mahindra have very different build styles, for lack of a better term. Kubota tends to build machines that are lighter, with less FEL and 3pt lift capacity, for a given engine size/power. Mahindra tends to build much heavier machines that have more FEL and 3pt lift, with similar sized engines. It wouldn't surprise me to see 1,000lbs difference between the two of similar engine power. That may, or may not, make a difference in what you're planning on doing.

I can't imagine buying a new tractor to serve as your primary machine and not getting the FEL.

Welcome to TBN!

/ newbie #6