Oil for Turbo

/ Oil for Turbo #1  

Bob Ha

Silver Member
Tractor
NH TN75, Kubota M9960, Kubota M7040, NH T4.85
This oil question has been discussed a lot on this form but don't recall Turbo's being part of the discussion. I have heard that synthetic oils are better for a turbo. I am going to use Rotella T 15W-40 but not sure about synthetic or non-synthetic. Any thoughts? 2002 New Holland TN75, 72hp 3 Cylinder Turbo diesel, 2400 hrs.

Thanks, BH

Last edited:
   / Oil for Turbo #2  
I am not an oil expert. I do use and prefer Synthetic in all my machines. I would guess it to be better in Turbo engine also. With the heat that a turbo can create I would expect a synthetic would provide better protection.

/ Oil for Turbo #3  
It depends on how you use it. hard use in cold weather (big difference in oil temperatures) calls for a low viscosity synthetic oil. In average temperatures with average use, mineral is good enough, because the oil will sooner age from time than from actual use.

/ Oil for Turbo #4  
I plan to buy a turbo diesel VW Jetta. Will definitely use synthetic oil in it, probably the 0w30 Mobil 1 (this is what Mercedes uses). If you go for longer intervals, the Mobil 1 5w40 "SUV" (and diesel) oil is probably better.

15w40 is too heavy for the winter. You need something 0wxx. In Imperial Research tests, the ONLY oil that would not smoke the upper valve train in winter starts was a 0wxx. In Sun Oil tests, synthetic oils gave NO upper valve train wear; whereas, dino oils did (on taxi cabs). Why? Because the synthetic oil with lower (don't know whether it was 5wxx or 0wxx in their test) cold start numbers are "grabbed" quicker by the oil pump and get up to the valve train on startup.

ANY oil will be more viscous than its later viscosity reading, e.g. its yywxx "xx" value, on startup. So, even a 0w40 oil will be more viscous than a 40w oil on startup.