On the way in or out?

/ On the way in or out? #1  

Iplayfarmer

Tractor
Massey Ferguson 1215, Case 801B
I'm a 4 month veteran /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif owner of a grey market tractor, and I'd like some discussion from everyone what the future of Grey market tractors might be.

I know that Kubota has succeeded in getting their tractors banned from sale in the U.S. Do you think that other manufacturers will accomplish the same thing? Will parts get easier or harder to find?

Basically are Grey market tractors on the way in or on the way out?

/ On the way in or out? #2  
The only gray market tractors I have any experience with is Yanmar, and I see them on the way up. The parts and service aspect has continued to grow since I first learned of them in 1999. At that time, I held off for fear I would be stuck with a bastard piece of equipment. Now, I have no problems getting over-night parts delivery. Hoye is expanding their parts warehouse now.

Bruce

/ On the way in or out? #3  
Occasionally I hear rumblings of Yanmar selling direct in the states. Usually associated with rumblings of Yanmar and Deere seperating. What would this do to the grey market?

/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

/ On the way in or out?
It's hard to know whether to wish for these companies to come into the states or to stay out. If they come in I fear we will get an organized opposition to grey markets like what happened with Kubotas. On the other hand, with an official presence in the states parts, service, etc. might be more available depending on the attitudes of the individual dealers.

/ On the way in or out? #5