Operating the 3 point

/ Operating the 3 point #1  

dry_creek_farm

Tractor
2007 Montana 5740C and 1942 Farmall Model M - Wide Front
Hello everyone,

First post on the list here after lurking and reading for a few weeks now. Thanks for everybody for the good information and stories.

I'm kinda new to farming in general and I've only got about 35 hours on the Montana 5740 so far. Mostly FEL work. I've just gotten a 7.5' disc harrow mounted to the back and I wanted ask a few questions to see if I'm using it right. Any tips or tricks to setting up the 3 point for using a disc harrow would be appreciated. Here is my predicament-

I seems to me that I'm not getting enough downward pressure on the disc to get it to bite into the ground more than a couple of inches. I was hoping to get about 3-4 inches of bite. Am I asking too much? Here is my setup-

Top link in connected to the second hole down from the top on the tractor. I slid the little blocking lever on the top link of the tractor out of the way to engage the draft control. I also opened the flow control valve to the right of the operator's seat to the "double action" position. Now it's my thought that the 3 point should be forcing the arms down in the double action position - Right? Also I've got the draft control lever in the cab pushed all the way down.

/ Operating the 3 point #2