Opinions on steel trusses (adams truss)

/ Opinions on steel trusses (adams truss) #1  

Keller

Since this is the unofficial "pole barn" forum I hope I am in the right spot with this. I an wanting to build my own pole barn and I keep seeing these trusses pop ip for sale. I have never seen one of these buildings in person and I was wanting opinions on them. Their 40' with a 6 foot leg. I would be putting them on a 4' concrete wall for a 10' wall height. Just wondering g how hard they are to work with.

Pretty tempting when I can buy the trusses and poles all for the price of 6x6s.

I know their is the added cost of the concrete wall. But my dad does concrete by trade and I like the idea of having a half buried shop. Like a basement. Cool in the Sumer warm in the winter.

Attachments

• image-2299485176.png
    image-2299485176.png
    123.3 KB · Views: 752
   / Opinions on steel trusses (adams truss) #2  
Are these used trusses?

And do they need support at the ridge, or not?

What is your snow load?

/ Opinions on steel trusses (adams truss) #3  
trusses aren't something that you can just slap up and call good. each one is a specifically engineered building component that was designed for a certain place and loading condition.

the picture that you're showing is actually a trussed rigid frame. while i can't comment on that particular frame, i will say that pre-fabbed rigid frames are pretty darn flimsy, as they're built to the absolute minimum requirements. i am not a fan.

-matt

/ Opinions on steel trusses (adams truss)
beenthere said:
Are these used trusses?

And do they need support at the ridge, or not?

What is your snow load?

They are used.

They are free span.

I have no idea what my snow loaf is. I tried to google search with no luck. Any Ideas? Franklin county mo.

mattellis2 said: