Options for pull type hay cutter/swather

/ Options for pull type hay cutter/swather #1  

horsebroke

Bronze Member
Tractor
TYM T450
I'm new to the haying business - call me a hobby farmer. I bought a baler last year, and sicle-bar mower, 4-wheel rake. WOW - what a lot of work. Did appx 1,100 square bales.

I'm looking for better options for cutting/swathing. I've considered self-powered swathers, but would rather have something to pull behind my 45 hp tractor.

Yall have any suggestions? Obviously, reasonable price is a must. I've looked at the John Deere 525 - but that sucker's almost $12K!!! and it's out of production. Other companies make anything similar that cuts/rakes/windrows all at once, in a pull-behind configuration?

thanks in advance

/ Options for pull type hay cutter/swather #2  
Deere and New Holland come to mind in my zip code. Lots of used machines under $3500. I suggest your purchase decision include how far away your dealer and also an alternate parts source are located.

I run a NH-479 9' mower conditioner with the swath gate closed down to make windrows for second cutting. Your JD 850 will run it with ease. When I had a 22 hp Yanmar, all I needed to do was add a lot of front weight to keep the nose down...

/ Options for pull type hay cutter/swather #3  
Your tractor is going to be the limiting factor in the type & size of hay cutter.

The first question is: Do you need conditioning?

If you need conditioning, you are going to be limited to a sickle bar style mower-conditioner, like the NH 479 mentioned above. However, I believe that the 479 is too much machine for your JD. I wouldn't go bigger than a 7' cut especially if you are not on dead flat ground or you will get pushed around by the mower.

If conditioning is not required, you will have more options. Everything from an old fashioned sickle bar on up to a more modern drum/disc mower. I am completely unfamiliar with these as we can not live without conditioning in NY.