Orchardgrass Fertilization After 1st Cutting

/ Orchardgrass Fertilization After 1st Cutting #1  
Tractor
Kubota MX5800
Early this spring I fertilized my 10 acre Orchardgrass field and we have just taken 1st cutting. I have read before that grass hay responds well to Nitrogen-only fertilizer after 1st cutting and can really improve yields for 2nd cutting. I have never used a single nutrient fertilizer before. I would be using my 3pt broadcast spreader. I have no idea what would be a good baseline for lbs/ac and also what type of Nitrogen as I believe there are different types (46-0-0, etc). Also, I assume it will broadcast out of the spreader, don't really know what it looks like. Does anybody know a good starting point that would allow my Orchardgrass to get a really nice bump for 2nd cutting? Thanks

/ Orchardgrass Fertilization After 1st Cutting #2  
I put 150-200 pounds per acre on my wheat in late March early April 46-0 Urea I tried to get it out before rain. If you have a southern states close by you can pick up one of their buggies and it will make the spreading go a lot faster. If you are only hitting it once this year I would guess somewhere between 100-140 an acre per year I think .

/ Orchardgrass Fertilization After 1st Cutting #3  
I use 46 granulated between every cut and have been for years with the final application mixed with alfalfa and orchard grass seed and then fitted with a drag mat for overwintering. I go a bit lighter, about 50 pounds to the acre. The 46 I use is coated for slower release.

Be apprised though, any N in a spreader will eat it up if it's not cleaned carefully afterwards.

/ Orchardgrass Fertilization After 1st Cutting #4  
Couple years ago I got a deal on old dated DEF and sprayed that on my hay. Bang, that really made it grow, DEF is Urea and di-ionized water. Smells like cat pee. 15 gallons to 200 gallons of water.

/ Orchardgrass Fertilization After 1st Cutting #5