Power loss under load

/ Power loss under load #1  

geezer45

Tractor
Kubota
Hello all. New to this so please bear with me. I have a Kubota L5450 that I purchased second hand. Up until recently it has been performing very well, but recently it has started acting up. What happens is that it will run just fine cold, but when the engine gets up to temperature it starts hesitating and acts almost as if it is fighting back pressure. Any suggestions as to where to start looking. I have to say that it probably needs a new air filter, but fuel filter has been changed several times to be certain there was no crud blocking the fuel flow. As you can tell, I have little to no experience with diesel so any starting point for me would be appreciated. Thanks.

/ Power loss under load #2  
Hello all. New to this so please bear with me. I have a Kubota L5450 that I purchased second hand. Up until recently it has been performing very well, but recently it has started acting up. What happens is that it will run just fine cold, but when the engine gets up to temperature it starts hesitating and acts almost as if it is fighting back pressure. Any suggestions as to where to start looking. I have to say that it probably needs a new air filter, but fuel filter has been changed several times to be certain there was no crud blocking the fuel flow. As you can tell, I have little to no experience with diesel so any starting point for me would be appreciated. Thanks.

have you tried draining out all the fuel and starting with fresh?

/ Power loss under load #3  
Check for good fuel flow from tank to inj pump. Also check that excess fuel from injectors is returning to tank and that tank is venting.

/ Power loss under load #4  
Check for good fuel flow from tank to inj pump. Also check that excess fuel from injectors is returning to tank and that tank is venting.

I agree with Jim. The first place to look when you have a prooblem with low power on a diesel is fuel delivery.