Purchasing My First Tractor

/ Purchasing My First Tractor #1  

villa14

I'm just starting to learn about farm equipment and I have been given the opportunity to raise my own hay on 100 acres, wheat on 34 acres, and have 30 acres of pasture for a horse training facility of 200 acres total. The tractor (with a loader) must be big enough to load manure, mow, rake, and bale the hay that I will raise. My problem is that I am not sure which tractor would be best for the job.

From the small amount of research that I have done so far, I am looking at the following tractors:
~John Deere 5403
~John Deere 5425
~Kubota M7040
~Kubota M8540
~New Holland T5040
~New Holland TT55

Do these seem like appropriate tractors for the job that I need to do? Does anyone have any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance for your help!

/ Purchasing My First Tractor #2  
Right off, let me be the first to welcome you to TBN. You'll never find yourself in short supply of opinion here, 'cause there's an ample supply to be had! ;)

Good choices so far. Look atthe 500 series Massey Fergusons too. Real bang for the buck there. You'll get a lot of happy Mahindra owner on here. I'd suggest looking there too.

I farmed for 35+ years on approx 200 acres, with a 60 hp JD tractor as my biggest most of those years. That's a good match. You'll find uses for larger power, but if you plan on ONE tractor for now, 60hp range is a good place to start.

In time, you'll find the need for more than one tractor. (Some of us can't seem to get ENOUGH of 'em) I'd suggest starting with one versatile enough to do just about everything on your list. (Not too big...not too small)

/ Purchasing My First Tractor #3