Queston about machinefinder.com and/or brand popularity

/ Queston about machinefinder.com and/or brand popularity #1  

Bullwinkle123

Platinum Member
Tractor
Kubota MX5400HST, Z724XKW-3-54
I was searching machinefinder.com yesterday for some 'L' class Kubotas and some 3-series Deeres, focusing mostly on 30-45 HP tractors. The listings were most of the US and Canada, I wasn't looking in my local region, I was just trying to get a sense of what the prices were for tractors and packages as I prepare to buy my own (and first - so I'm a noob).

It struck me that there were literally ten times as many JD tractors listed as Kubotas (300+ compared to ~30), and that the Kubotas listed were all quite a bit more heavily used and/or older machines. Many of the Deere's were new-ish, even advertised as new.

Since I am unfamiliar with the site I wanted to know:
  • Is it somehow affiliated with John Deere?
  • Is it just that JD is a far more prevalent brand than Kubota in the US?
  • Or is it that Kubota owners retain their machines longer (and so there are fewer resales)?

Just curious about this lopsidedness. I haven't got numbers for tractorhouse.com to see if they differ.

In my area, I'm about equidistant between a Kubota and Deere dealer. Most of my "gentleman farmer" neighbors have Kubotas. The more "earn a living with their tractor" neighbors are more evenly distributed across brands (with slightly bigger tractors).

/ Queston about machinefinder.com and/or brand popularity #2