Recommended multi-meter

/ Recommended multi-meter #1  

livemusic

Tractor
Mahindra 5010
I guess mine bit the dust, has been acting weird and battery fit is sloppy. Adding a shim isn't working anymore, I can't get a reading now. What is a good one for general purpose use? TIA if you can recommend one!

EDIT: I just need it for general use around the house and ranch, am not a pro of any sort. Like today, needed to check battery on a John Deere Gator. Don't want to spend a whole lot. I would think less than $50.

EDIT2: I typed in "best multimeter" into amazon and saw this, looks ok to me... it has a place to store the probes, that's interesting...

Last edited:
   / Recommended multi-meter #2  
The big question is what are you using for, I mean are you a trades person that uses a meter everyday, or are you a hobby person using it a few times a year? As an electrician, I have a fluke with way more functions than the average person needs. But in my toolbox at home I have a simple bk precision, it has basics enough for automotive and household stuff, and it's simple to use. Extech makes a good, reasonably priced meter. They are rebranded for Klein, ideal , and Milwaukee. If you need a meter to keep in the glove box or toolbox on the tractor, go to harbor freight and get the $10 job so if you lose it or break it, who cares.

/ Recommended multi-meter #3  
I have a couple Flukes but also needed a third one for some bench work. I like the Mastech MS8239C. They have variations depending on how fancy you want. It's cheap and so far reliable. I got it off ebay.

/ Recommended multi-meter #4  
I have some FLUKE meters I bought slightly used on eBay for a good price. They are one of the best names... there are lots of models with varying capabilities to choose from. Use a lithium 9v battery for the best results.

/ Recommended multi-meter #5