Removing a loader from a compact tractor

/ Removing a loader from a compact tractor #1  

neucam

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota L185DT
Hi, I am new to this, what is involved to remove the loader on a compact tractor. It is mid mount and unless I have an overhead lift I don't see how I can back out of this thing. I know I have to install some quick disconnects to the hydraulics. I can possibly use a come-along to the rafters in my garage. Is there any other way.

/ Removing a loader from a compact tractor #2  
You'll have to supply a little more info than what you have. What brand/year is the tractor and what brand is the loader?

/ Removing a loader from a compact tractor #4  
Most modern FEL systems that feature quick detach have designed in a means to do it fairly easily.

Hopefully this link http://www.loaders.com/userdocs/products/02_WindowsMedia_-_DSL.wmv will take you to a Westendorf video, which is I think fairly typical.

Problem is, the Kubota L185 listed in neucam's profile isn't exactly a modern CUT. And he mentions the need for QD's in his hydraulic lines. The loader probably will require some kind of overhead to help dismount it.

/ Removing a loader from a compact tractor #5  
I removed mine solo using a bunch of 2x4s cut as incremental supports, some long galv piping as levers and a jack. Jack one side up an inch, put in 2x4's, jack other side an inch, put in 2x4's, rinse repeat. It took 2 hours, a lot of sweat, a few uh-oh moments and some skinned knuckles, but I got done what I needed.

Its really difficult to adapt one technique to another tractor unless the mount is exactly the same however.

/ Removing a loader from a compact tractor #6  
Problem is, the Kubota L185 listed in neucam's profile isn't exactly a modern CUT. And he mentions the need for QD's in his hydraulic lines. The loader probably will require some kind of overhead to help dismount it.