Rollover Box Blades

/ Rollover Box Blades #1  

roysallis

Gold Member
Tractor
JD 5210, JD 521 Loader, JD MX6 Rotary Cutter, TufLine 6' Disk, TufLine 6' Grader Blade, TufLine 6' Box Blade
What are the advantages/disadvantges of a rollover box blade compared to a regular box blade.
I am going to buy a box blade for general use in maintaining 40 acres. I have over 1/2 mile of dirt
road on my property and I have a grader blade that I use on it but will a box blade come in useful
for road maintenance also. I am new at using a tractor and will appreciate any help that I can get.
I have a JD 5210 (53hp). What size blade should I get?
Also, since my property is somewhat hilly I would like to get an indicator to mount on my tractor to
let me know when I am on too steep of an incline. My wife and daughter-in-law use the tracator a lot and I want them (and my son and I also) to operate it as safely as possible. I have looked at the tiltmeter.com website. Do you know of other sources?
Thanks

/ Rollover Box Blades #2  
My slope indicator just came from R&B Mfg. yesterday (4 days after I ordered it). I'm sure there must be other manufacturers, but I don't know who or where.

And yes, I'd recommend a box blade; generally much more useful than a back blade (straight blade, grader blade, or whatever they're called in your area). The box blade has scarifiers, or ripper teeth, to loosen hard surfaces when necessary, is generally heavier and "bites" in better, should be stronger, etc. As for size, just be sure it's wider than the outer tread on your rear tires, but not big enough to be too much weight for your 3-point. I've never used a roll over box blade, but have looked at them; great idea and that's what I'd have instead of my regular box blade if it weren't so expensive.

Bird

/ Rollover Box Blades #3