Rollover paranoia

/ Rollover paranoia #1  

Stephen D

Tractor
2016 Kubota B3030
This post is not to criticize the safety minded out there amongst you. Far from it, as I'm a lucky guy that rolled his tractor and survived it four years ago. My issue is wondering whether the "respect" that the incident instilled in me is proportional to the actual risk. My Kubota B3030 was the first and only tractor I've bought. Total noob guy. I was backing while moving dirt, hit an unexpected mound of dirt and rolled. The built in ROP of the cab protected me, and the door glass contained me and prevented entrapment or limb loss. My first thought laying there in the shattered glass was turning the motor off (fire), then getting out. Once I was standing outside looking at the dead tractor carcass, I wondered whether any of my neighbors were out and had seen me due to the potential embarrassment. I was all alone. Then it dawned on me that I had no cell phone, my wife was away, and had I been trapped it would have been about a 5 hour wait for her to find me. Then the fear set in. Totally preventable. I think the root causes were ignorance of both proper technique and the risks, rushing, and overconfidence. I happened to have an excavator on site, so I just chained the Kubota and flipped it upright. To my surprise there was absolutely zero damage besides the shattered door glass.