Backhoe Scary BX23S tractor moment - back tires chest height!

/ Scary BX23S tractor moment - back tires chest height! #1  

realpdm

Tractor
Kubota B23s
This was scary to me and thought I would share. I'm just learning to use my tractor (I have about 20 hours on it so far). I was using the back hoe to dig out some smaller stumps and having to reposition the tractor a good bit. I was off the tractor having just moved it and trying to return the seat to the reversed position for backhoe use. When I lifted the seat up into position to rotate it, the back of the seat bumped into the control levers for the backhoe and it directed it to extend. This lifted the tractor rear off the ground and it took me a moment to realize what was happening. By the time I had killed the ignition the rear tires were at about chest height, the tractor barely balancing on the backhoe bucket and the FEL on the ground, entire tractor leaning a bit towards me a bit.

I ran around to the other side and tried to be a counter weight holding onto it while I figured out what to do. The seat was still pressed into the control knobs so I managed to get it moved a bit to relieve them and then started tractor from the ground and raised the backhoe (thus lowering the tractor).

I'm still trying to figure out all the lessons I learned here. One I guess is to always put the pins in place that keep the backhoe from moving before getting off the tractor.

I am no fan of this reversible seat design. I'd rather it was just a little more bulky and had its own seat.

--
Phillip

/ Scary BX23S tractor moment - back tires chest height! #2