Starter/Solenoid question

/ Starter/Solenoid question #1  

slefebvre

Tractor
Mahindra 4035
Let me start by saying I’m not a mechanic and very much a novice at this.

I have a Mahindra 4035 that won’t start. I pretty much narrowed it down to the solenoid.

Here’s my question…it looks like I have to remove the entire starter to remove the solenoid. Is this correct?

If I remove the started is there a gasket there that will also need to be replace?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Steve

/ Starter/Solenoid question #2  
If you're not a mechanic and a novice at repair perhaps you should start by telling what you've done to narrow it down to the solenoid. There are other potential reasons the starter may not energize. Having a voltmeter on hand is a great way to begin tracking down the problem. It could be something as simple as a dirty or loose battery connection.

/ Starter/Solenoid question
If you're not a mechanic and a novice at repair perhaps you should start by telling what you've done to narrow it down to the solenoid. There are other potential reasons the starter may not energize. Having a voltmeter on hand is a great way to begin tracking down the problem. It could be something as simple as a dirty or loose battery connection.

I researched and earlier thread with others having the same problem. That thread explain how to bypass the ignition switch and the solenoid. I also check and I’m getting 12 volts to the solenoid. When I run a wire directly from my battery to the started I can get it to turn over.

/ Starter/Solenoid question #4  
When I looked that model up it looks like solenoid is on the starter. You can replace it separately. First, disconnect battery. Then remove starter/solenoid leads, remove starter.
The easiest but more expensive is replace both together. If only solenoid is bad try replacing it.