starting a 601

/ starting a 601 #1  

ft601rookie

Tractor
Ford 601
greetings all, I'm new to tractors period, not just old fords, but that what I own a Ford 601, still 6 volt. I put in a new battery which started the machine pretty good for about a month. We've had some fairly cold (single digit) days lately, and starting has been tough. Now even with a full charge I just get a click or series of clicks. Sometimes the glow light it lit, and sometimes not. Also (when extremely cold), it seems like the carburetor float may be stuck and gas just pours out of the carb if it doesn't start on the first try. It was so bad that gas mixed with oil (I assume because the gravity feed type system somehow back flowed into the crankcase). Anyway I am definitely experiencing the rookie learning curve. Any help is greatly appreciated!

/ starting a 601 #2  
Hi. Welcome.

Might check the wires to make sure they are clean and tight. Both positive and negative wires.
A hot hair dryer blowing into the intake can help start on a cold day.

As to the gas flowing from the carb it could be the check valves are sticking.

/ starting a 601
Thanks for the advice. Actually I did go through wire connections one by one. I had done this before too and must have jiggled a lose wire by accident, and it fired right up, but now nothing. I can't seem the find that wire again. So I based on your suggestion, I am on the right track to run the wiring and try to find a bad wire or connection. Thanks!

/ starting a 601 #4  
Completely remove both battery cables, (negative off first, on last) clean all points of contact with a wire brush and a scraper or file.

Pull hard on the cables and check with an ohm meter to see if it has corroded away under the insulation.

Watch this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XhRPLgH6uZg

/ starting a 601
It was the cables, problem solved... Thanks to all!

/ starting a 601