Steep property--need advice.

/ Steep property--need advice. #1  

ctadds

Tractor
none yet--but looking
First post--I have been reading through here for a few weeks now, and have learned A LOT--also bought the book offered on this site (just so I could understand what the rest of you were talking about). Anyway, I have ruled out a lot of stuff thanks to a lot of you guys, but now it's time to get specific.

First question--I have a 2 acre lot on a mountainside with 400 feet of riverfront at the bottom--some very steep slopes--I have some areas with 15 to 20% grade to get up and down on, but some grades as high as 35%--Needless to say, biggest concerns are stability and safety--an injury could put me out of business in a heartbeat (I'm a dentist). Right now, I am down to a JD790, but am considering Kioti (thanks to info on this site) just to get more weight in. I test drove the 790 this morning, and the shift tranny doesn't bother me a bit. About the only thing I don't like about it is the shoe brakes. Attachments I am looking at are the FEL (new 300 is really nice, although the dealer didn't have the specs on it), Pallet forks, 5' rotary cutter, box blade, and wood chipper.

Am I on the right track with the weight/stability with that kind of property?? I understand about traveling up and downhill vs. across the incline, thanks to having spent a lot of time on a snowmobile as a kid, but have zero experience with a tractor. Keep in mind that I am a neophyte here so if I say anything stupid, it's because.....I'm stupid! /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

Thanks, Craig

/ Steep property--need advice. #2