Stick Welding?

/ Stick Welding? #1  

yomax4

Elite Member
Tractor
ISEKI TA 247. Stihl Saws Gravely Zt's Polaris ATV's State Of The Art Welding Equipment
I can't believe it. I am an advanced process welder type guy who enjoys the latest in Twin Pulse Synergic Mig and Variable Frequency Power Supplies. Today I was installing some Cattle Fence panels on the interior of my new wood shed building. 1/4" rods welded together..I had to cut several panels with Plasma and weld in sections to complete the runs and corners. My only option was stick welding on 115v. I have a little Thermal Arc 161 that runs on 115/230 so I ran out 70' of extension cord and stick welded the panels together with 1/8" MG 500 ( fancy 6013 ) it worked awesome. My point here is that I read all these posts about stick welding and have always been very bored reading them.. Now that I have had to re-learn it..It was very enjoyable and I loved every minute of it. Sorry to think you stick weld guys were boring.. I get it now..:thumbsup:

/ Stick Welding? #2  
Welcome aboard... what's twin pulse synergic? New kind of 7018? Can you run 2 beads at once? ;)

/ Stick Welding? #3  
When I started in welding school, (15-years old) the teacher divided the class in half by alphabetical order. First half started on O/A welding the others on SMAW. I started on stick, which worked for me, because I knew I was going into construction, at that point in time that is the only process you'd see on a heavy civil construction site. When I had to go to the O/A welding tables I hated every minute of it! The second year was Mig, and Tig, Mig wasn't so bad, but Tig was just as bad as O/A. Oh I learned each process, but I knew for me the money was with stick. Within 10-years construction switched to wire feeds. I do fine with Tig, but I'm the last guy you want to weld something with O/A! :laughing:

/ Stick Welding? #4