Stihl 026

/ Stihl 026 #1  

schoolsout

Veteran Member
Tractor
Massey Ferguson 1533
Picked up a used one for $150 last Friday. Has a 20" bar on it and I know that's too big for my needs and possibly even the saw. I'm thinking about putting an 18" bar on it with .325 chain. Buddy says I should put a 16" as it will cut much better.

We have a Husqvarna 235 and Craftsman with 16" that do well for that size stuff for what we cut. Most everything we'll cut will be less than 16" diameter and most of it will be pine/sweet gum with occasional oak here and there.

What do y'all think? 18" OK?

/ Stihl 026 #2  
I have been running an 026 with a 20 in bar for almost 20 years. It is a great saw. I like 3/8 chain over .325 but everyone has their opinion and likes. If the saw is in good shape it will run anything up to and including 20" just fine.
Is it an 026 or 026 Pro?
To your specific question yes on 18"

/ Stihl 026 #3  
Going from 20 to 18 or 18 to 16 will make no noticable difference in how the saw will cut. Only thing you are gaining is a few less inches of bar-chain friction, which is negligible. Only thing it will do is help out with balance and if you are not used to a saw with a longer bar.

I'd stick with the 3/8 chain too for that size but thats just me. .325 is harder to sharpen IMO and dont cut as fast.

Nice find though.

/ Stihl 026
It's a reg 026 (assuming if it were Pro, it would say it)

Just don't have the need for the 20", although it will remain in the garage should the need arise.

Next question...can a 3/8" chain work on a bar that comes with .325 or is the bar made a bit differently. I'd assume it doesn't matter, but I've made assumptions before and know where that gets me sometimes.

/ Stihl 026 #5  
My favorite saw combination is a 026 Pro with 18" bar. I will haul this up in the tree with me once my Top handle saw with the 16" bar is getting too light to cut bigger trunk sections.