TC30 New Holland continual electrical and starting problems

/ TC30 New Holland continual electrical and starting problems #1  

roseraynak

Tractor
New Holland TC 30 Diesel Model 7308
I have a TC 30 New Holland tractor. It gets minimal use. I purchased it brand new in 2004 and it only has 63 hours on it. I am not a mechanic or very mechanical minded. I try to start the tractor and let it run for a while on a regular basis when it is getting little or no usage, as recommended by a car mechanic friend. The work I use it for requires getting on and off the seat regularly so the car mechanic rigged it so the engine stays on even when I am off the seat. Several years ago, while working with the loader, I drug a branch underneath the tractor under the seat area which required a splicing of the neutral wires on the left side of the tractor so I could start and use it. Last year, upon regular starting routines, I tried to start it and it would not start at all. Several mechanic friends of mine and my son looked at it and questions arose about the battery, the starter, the relays, the neutral switches, etc. Eventually, the car mechanic rerouted another alternative ignition switch to the starter. This seemed to correct the problem. Earlier this past year it would not start again so I accumulated my 'team' of helpers who all had varying diagnoses about what the problem could be. The local Massey Ferguson tractor mechanic (closest New Holland mechanic is 80 miles away) diagnosed it as a loose wire somewhere between the seat and the ignition. This fixed the problem for about a month and then it quit starting again. My car mechanic checked the battery and it was low on water so we added water, put a charger on the tractor and it took right off.