Tell me if I'm on the right track (newbie)

/ Tell me if I'm on the right track (newbie) #1  

houska

Silver Member
Tractor
Branson 4225h; Kubota KX-040
I've just bought a recreational property in Ontario. I'm new to tractors, but based on my reading here and elsewhere, I think I should get a Kubota L3901 or Kioti CK4010.
Would appreciate people poking holes in my thinking. When some of this white stuff goes away, I'll start visiting dealers.

The land is several hundred acres of Canadian shield wilderness: lakes, ponds, woods, rocky areas. Most of it maintained by beavers, not us, so the actual area is less important than that there's 4km (2.5 mi) of private road. Cut in decades ago, painstakingly maintained by the previous owner with borrowed random equipment. The road's good in summer for 2WD, but some areas need work and of course maintenance. Some of it is level, some mildly hilly, a few places with 12-14% slopes. Plus miles of abandoned ATV trails to revive, and over the next few years we'll slowly progress from tenting on the land (currently no structures at all) to building a small cabin. No fields to work, no lawn to mow, no snow removal (3 season use).

My thinking:
  • Compact tractor with attachments as general purpose workhorse, rent excavator and/or dozer when needed for big stuff
  • 54" wide footprint. 48" subcompacts underpowered for land this size, but full size tractors would be too big in ATV-trail spaces
  • Hydro since will doing lots of tight-spaces back'n'forth work, and as a tractor etc newbie one fewer thing (clutch) to worry about
  • Go for ~40HP rather than <35HP. Know (thanks to this board) hydraulics matter more than HP for many applications, but still important(?) due to brushcutting and going up and down hills
  • Around here, Kubota seems to be the default brand for compacts. There are a couple of Kioti dealers within driving range, but very little Mahindra and no RK/TYM. Haven't seen any compact Deeres locally.