Track Tensioner won't take grease. What do I do ?

/ Track Tensioner won't take grease. What do I do ? #1  

WoodChuckDad

Elite Member
Tractor
Kioti RX7320 Power Shuttle Cab, Komatsu PC130-6
The title says it all. My tracks were slack and I was going to tighten them. One side took the grease, but the other side didn't, so now I have one tight side and one sloppy side. The temperatures were in mid 30's today. I have owned the Excavator for 1 year and basically I am a newbie to heavy equipment and tractors so use small words to tell me how to fix this.

/ Track Tensioner won't take grease. What do I do ? #3  
Unscrew the zerk holder. It's not just a zerk, it's a valve, sort of, it might have a sawcut across the threads so you can back it off a few turns to let the grease out. Anyway you can take it out completely and make sure grease pumps thru it. Thats your first step. And clean it if plugged of course. If grease pumps thru then the adjuster ram is stuck. There could be a rock blocking it from extending. Or just rusted stuck, or is it leaking grease thus not building pressure?

/ Track Tensioner won't take grease. What do I do ? #4  
The title says it all. My tracks were slack and I was going to tighten them. One side took the grease, but the other side didn't, so now I have one tight side and one sloppy side. The temperatures were in mid 30's today. I have owned the Excavator for 1 year and basically I am a newbie to heavy equipment and tractors so use small words to tell me how to fix this.

A "zerk" is also called a grease nipple.

/ Track Tensioner won't take grease. What do I do ? #5  
Zerks are dirt cheap. PENNIES. Taking one out, cleaning it, and putting it back makes about as much sense as cleaning the oil filter on your engine. Just replace the stupid thing.

Amazon.com: grease nipple

/ Track Tensioner won't take grease. What do I do ? #6