Tractor for land clearing and preparation

/ Tractor for land clearing and preparation #1  

mboncalo

Tractor
not yet
Good day everybody,

I'm looking to buy a tractor which will be mainly used for land clearing and preparation in the beginning. Land is full of small 1-2 inch thick trees which need to be cleared.
Short story, I bought recently 300 acres of virgin land which needs to be cleared, leveled, prepared from scratch.
Initially I was thinking to start with an 80 hp tractor with a front and loader , grapple and leveler but afterwards I had second thoughts that it might be cheaper fuel wise to start with an 50-60 hp tractor which might reduce my costs for clearing the land but I will have to buy a bigger tractor afterwards for land preparation, tilling, planting.
Though these are just thoughts, I have no experience with tractors beside all the reading
I'm not living in USA , in case you are thinking of recommending some tractor models :)
To be honest, I'm stuck a bit and I would appreciate some advice

Thank you.

/ Tractor for land clearing and preparation #2  
You’re a little vague on what you are going to do with the land. Farm it, if so what crops? Build a house on it?

/ Tractor for land clearing and preparation #4  
Tractors are great for many things, like farming... Land clearing, not so great. It can be done but it would take lots of time. Do you have lots of time on your hands? Are you thinking of just mowing down the 1" to 2" stuff? or digging them out?

A Big Mulcher would make short work of it.

/ Tractor for land clearing and preparation #6  
I'm with these guys. I've got a 100+ HP tractor and (if I recall) a 90 HP industrial backhoe/loader.

Wife has a CORNER of the woods that she wants cleaned up for a detached garage. Tractor is idle. I'm using the backhoe to get the trees down (saplings up to 30" diameter) Dragging the fallen trees to burn pile, good sections cutting into logs and stacking those.