Buying Advice Tractor Suggestions for 30 Acre Homestead w/ Horses

/ Tractor Suggestions for 30 Acre Homestead w/ Horses #1  

RougeRiverRanch

Tractor
2011 JD 3320, 2004 JD Gator HPX
Hi all, new to the forum. Lots of great information on here.

I have zero experience with buying tractors (have always borrowed my very generous neighbor's tractor) and would like some suggestions as to what may best suit my needs. We live on 30 acres in Michigan, there's a river that runs through the center property, and the surrounding property slopes towards the river. During the spring and fall, some of the property tends to get very muddy due to the high water table. We also have 2 horses and 2 mini horses, no farming plans either besides maybe some gardens to feed the family. No plans to get additional horses any time soon either.

I presume the primary uses for the tractor will be general maintenance of our 30 acres and for the horses (hauling horse manure, plowing and grading the 2,800 feet of driveway, mowing grass). In the future, I would also like to get a backhoe attachment to dig out some small detention ponds to make the horse paddocks less muddy.

I would like to get a used tractor, somewhere in the 500-2000 hour range (if closer to 2000 hrs, it must be well cared for), and my budget is $12,000-$15,000, but would be willing to spend an additional $2,000 if absolutely necessary. A loader is a must, mower and blade can be purchased separately or at a later date. I think I'd prefer a hydro transmission but am open to suggestions to others.

Any good suggestions? I have mainly been looking at Kubota L series, Deere 3320, 3520, 4410, 4430. Any other suggestions or reasons why to look at one over another? Suggested prices for any of these?

Thanks in advance,
Jason

/ Tractor Suggestions for 30 Acre Homestead w/ Horses #2