Tractor Supply Company

/ Tractor Supply Company #1  

dbarne20

Sorry if this is a repeat post, I'm new to country living and have a nearby Tractor Supply Company store. Is this a reliable place to purchase a tractor or just a gimmicky store name to catch city folk like me with my pants down?
/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

/ Tractor Supply Company #2  
What kind of tractor. From what I know they only sell garden tractors. As far as the company I think they are pretty good. Depending on what it is I would not have a problem buying from them.

murph

/ Tractor Supply Company #3  
IMO, they're more a place to purchase tractor supplies, not the tractors themselves. They sell Cub Cadet lawn and garden tractors, plus their own branded version of MTD products. Their brand is called Huskee -- not to be confused with Husqvarna. Unless I'm mistaken, they sell nothing larger than garden tractors...

Their implements, attachments, parts and such seem to be OK quality, but not at the level of original equipment stuff nor the higher end aftermarket stuff...

It's not junk, it's not top of the line, and it's priced accordingly, and affordably...

My two cents...

/ Tractor Supply Company #4  
I've found both the product variety and knowledge of products varies by slightly location, from another thread a while back perhaps greatly would be a better word.

TSC Thread

Around us, they're great for fencing supplies, mineral blocks, ect., but I've never seen anything heavier than low or maybe "mid-range" garden tractors there. They also have ignition kits and the like for "older" machines which I've occasionally found very convienient.

It always amazed me how one day I can speak to someone really helpful and a week later someone else with blank stares.

/ Tractor Supply Company #5  
My #1 store for fencing supplies, all else such as tack and vet supplies I have found better sources (Mail order or local auctions)
But in a pinch - I am glad to have one nearby

Ron