tractor won't shift from low end into mid or high range

/ tractor won't shift from low end into mid or high range #1  

fraidso2000

I am thinking of buying a ford 1920 but it won't shift out of low end range, everything else is clean and it has only 344 hours.
Is this a major repair issue I should be worried about?
The tractor is a steal at $9500 with a 5 ton trailer, scrape blade and loader, 4wd, just worried about repair cost.

/ tractor won't shift from low end into mid or high range #2  
I am not familiar with that particular tractor, but...

if I were to spend 9500 on anything it would not be something that may have drive / transmission troubles.

I am no tractor mechanic but I see many dollar signs when I image what could be wrong and what it would take to fix.

Just my 2 cents

/ tractor won't shift from low end into mid or high range #3  
Is it possible to take a mechanic out to look it over before you buy? It might be as simply as a clutch adjustment, or it could require splitting the tractor and doing major surgery.

If it needs substantial work you are looking at at least a couple grand to start. That 9500 steal can get expensive quickly. I don't know what the trailer is worth in this deal, but the blade is under $500 and I think you could get an equivalent new tractor with FEL for under 15K. My Kubota L3700SU was 14,450 on paper in my total package.

Your tractor cost appears to be 9K less the trailer value. If the trailer is, say 2K, then the tractor is 7K. That would mean you could throw another 6K or so into it and be under the price of new, but you would still have a tractor with 344 hours on it.

It seems to me that even with a major repair it could still come out to be a bargain, but maybe not a steal anymore.

/ tractor won't shift from low end into mid or high range