Tractors to avoid...

/ Tractors to avoid... #1  

joerocker

Silver Member
Tractor
Farm Pro 2420
Ok, you guys convinced me... I'm going to get "American Iron", used of course, from someone local (within 50 miles).

So, my question (and hopefully my last, thanks for your replies so far) is...drumroll please...

What tractors should I AVOID.

I've got a list of local dealers I'm going to call and see what they have used in the 30-40HP range. I just need a compact tractor to cut my grass on about 6 acres. I don't see a need for a FEL (oooh, I'm getting the lingo down).

Anything besides that MF-135 that I SHOULD be looking for? BTW, dealer doesn't want to budge.

I want RELIABLE. Besides routine maintenance I don't want to do anything to it! So keep that in mind in your recomendations.

You people have been MORE than patient with me and I appreciate it.

This is my beginning of "live the dream", retire, get some land, a pond, raise some animals...I have NO experience with tractors besides my riding lawn mower.

Thanks!

/ Tractors to avoid... #2  
You want what everybody wants. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
Look to the dealer that you want to work with and want to trust. Get to know him/her or one or two salesmen and go from there. The other things will fall in place.

/ Tractors to avoid... #3  
Things I'd avoid are beat up X-rentals, machines that just look rough and dinged up, leaks, etc. If it looks rough and neglected it probably will be trouble in the future regardless of brand.

Personally, I like older iron, most name brands were simpler machines 10 or so years back and are less money. Of course a well maintained newer tractor will do just find if you can find one thats priced right.

BTW, 30-40 HP seems kinda strong for 6 acres. I think you'd be happier with a 26-32 HP machine which would be easier to maneuver and less weight on the grass.

/ Tractors to avoid... #4