Trailer question - is there too light of a load for a 14k trailer?

/ Trailer question - is there too light of a load for a 14k trailer? #51  
I have a GR L6060 also and when I do the math on weight I was over loaded on my 10000lb steel trailer. I came up with close to 10000lbs loaded weight. Now, that was with my forks on the front tied down, tractor, loader and backhoe and I also have loaded tires. I took the weights listed in owners manual not actual scales. I purchased a 14000lb steel trailer, to make me feel better. I also tow my Kubota zero turn on it more than my 6060. I have been doing this for a couple years now with no problem. I also run all my trailer tires at max psi. Yes, they do ride a little rougher. I also don't think a few psi will make that much difference on a 10 ply tire. (YMMV) Most usually when you see a trailer on side of the road with a tire completely blown out. It is because of low tire pressure. The aluminum may be more prone to cracking from bouncing than steel. I would ask the salesman to explain what damage could be done by towing empty, he may know something we don't. Good luck with what ever you decide.
Good point. I also tow with max air pressure. I was always told that trailer tires do not fail from weight. But from speed and low pressure producing heat. My trailer is also a tilt bed (meaning it has two frames) and weighs 3200 pounds, so I don't get much bounce even at max pressure on the tires.

This might be right - If they were worried about cracks, and if that is the case, I personally would pass on al. That is why I try to purchase trailers from manufactures that use only certified welders. My L4701, FEL, box blade, pallet forks, tool box with tools, 7 ratchet binders and chains weighs right at 11k. Best Wishes.

/ Trailer question - is there too light of a load for a 14k trailer? #52  
What's the gvwr of the 450?
According to the information on the door post, the GVWR is 14500 lbs. Giving me 1500 lbs to play with.