Transaxle Fluid

/ Transaxle Fluid #1  

NibbanaFarm

Silver Member
Tractor
BCS 739, Cub Cadet 2544
I've been using 15-40 motor oil in my 2544 transaxle for about 5 years now and it's working good. (Just to save money from having to use the expensive CC oil.) I use Traveller Universal Tractor Hydraulic/Transmission fluid in my BCS two wheel tractor. I'm thinking this would be good for the CC 2544 transaxle also.

Any thoughts?

/ Transaxle Fluid #2  
Rotella T is a popular oil option for the 2544 transaxle, its proven to work well and not expensive. I have not heard of anyone using universal hydraulic oil. does it meet the spec for the CC 2544 transaxle?

/ Transaxle Fluid #3  
I've been using 15-40 motor oil in my 2544 transaxle for about 5 years now and it's working good. (Just to save money from having to use the expensive CC oil.) I use Traveller Universal Tractor Hydraulic/Transmission fluid in my BCS two wheel tractor. I'm thinking this would be good for the CC 2544 transaxle also.

Any thoughts?
I too would agree, the Cub Cadet transaxle fluid in pure greed at a farm store selling for $22 a quart! I've gotten by with Mopar ATF+4 synthetic for almost 20 years. The first change, the Cub transaxle fluid was nasty, took 2 diesel fuel rinses to get it cleaned out, now, it comes out clean with the ATF+4. It's only $6qt, $4qt when on sale.

/ Transaxle Fluid
Rotella T is a popular oil option for the 2544 transaxle, its proven to work well and not expensive. I have not heard of anyone using universal hydraulic oil. does it meet the spec for the CC 2544 transaxle?
I'm not aware of any spec's available for that. CC is making a lot of money off this stuff and isn't about to help you with aftermarket options that are going to be a fraction of the price.

I think I read on this board years ago that Hydrogear made the transaxles and said they spec'ed 5-40 or 15-40 at the factory.

/ Transaxle Fluid #5