Using a front end loader effectively

/ Using a front end loader effectively #1  

sros990

Tractor
JD 990
I'm a new tractor owner and I'm not very good at using a loader. For example, if I try to scoop soil or rocks from a large pile I'm not always able to get a full scoop. I also can't pick up a large rock out in a field. (I don't have a problem with a pile of fluffy stuff like compost).

Anyway, what is the proper technique for using the FEL--at what angle should I set the loader when I approach the pile; do I scoop from the top or bottom of the pile, etc.

Thanks
Steve

/ Using a front end loader effectively #2  
Two things you'll probably need, if you don't have them...

A Tooth bar will dig into a clumpy pile of dried out dirt or other materials. Without a tooth bar, your buckets cutting edge just spreads the digging force too much.

A Ballast Box or heavy implement on the 3 point Hitch to help with traction. I'll wager you're spinning at least one of your rear tires when digging into something other then light fluffy stuff (new mulch, for example).

Digging into rocks? Well, I'm not so good at that either...not if they have any size to them. I normally drop the bucket to ground level and roll any rocks into it...again, if they're of any size. Gravel...different story. Gravel or crushed run works pretty good. But before I had a ballast box (with ~600 lbs of sand), I'd set there spinning my tires.

/ Using a front end loader effectively #3  
</font><font color="blue" class="small">( Two things you'll probably need, if you don't have them...

A Tooth bar will dig into a clumpy pile of dried out dirt or other materials. Without a tooth bar, your buckets cutting edge just spreads the digging force too much.

A Ballast Box or heavy implement on the 3 point Hitch to help with traction. I'll wager you're spinning at least one of your rear tires when digging into something other then light fluffy stuff (new mulch, for example).