What do Y'all charge ?

/ What do Y'all charge ? #1  

ssgp2

Bronze Member
Tractor
JD 990, Case IH Farmall 40
I've been doing side jobs for several years and even added another tractor recently. I do carry insurance for my tractor side work, but was just curious how others charge for your area. I know some charge by the job or acre, but even that is based on an hourly rate. Being in the Ft. Worth area, I'm at $75/hr. from the time I get to the job site 'till I load up. If you do side jobs with your tractor, what's the going rate for your area?

/ What do Y'all charge ? #2  
I don’t do an hourly rate very often. They are hard to bid and one of the two parties never seems happy in the end.

I do $150 minimum unless I can stack jobs that are very close to eachother so I don’t have to load up between them. I do a lot of jobs for $150 for small garden tilling or minor driveway work then go up from there into the thousands of dollars.

/ What do Y'all charge ? #3  
I would also be interested in hearing opinions of the demographics and who is the cheapest. I did a job for my neighbor (90 years old) in the summer and he thought $140 was a lot when it was probably a $250+ job. I don't like to work for cheap people but I also understand someone that old has no concept of what things cost now.

He was also telling me his furnace guy charged him $75 for a service call and he told the guy he wouldn't be calling him back. My dad is 82 and also a cheapskate but he will pay it.

My neighbor was loaded BTW. He has since passed away.

/ What do Y'all charge ? #4