What is PEX AB?

/ What is PEX AB? #1  

stuckmotor

Tractor
AC WD 34 hp/3500 lbs MF 261 60 hp/5380 lbs
Is there such a thing as PEX AB???
I think this is Pex A because the fittings that came with it are too big to go in without expanding the pipe. Is it PEX A?

If so I'd like to order a self rotating lever type PEX expander so I can install it. The expanders I see advertised say they're for specific brands of PEX. Are they really brand specific or will any brand of expander and rings work?

IMG_20230402_040637.jpg

/ What is PEX AB?
Perhaps a better question is, am I misreading the label?

/ What is PEX AB? #3  
I could be wrong but I've used PEX a couple times and I never saw any distinction between PEX A and PEX AB.

The red PEX is for hot water the blue is for cold. I've spent a ton of time at the Lowe's in home Depot PEX section and don't remember that being a thing.

I'm not an expert though so maybe somebody else will know.

/ What is PEX AB? #4  
I could be wrong but I've used PEX a couple times and I never saw any distinction between PEX A and PEX AB.

The red PEX is for hot water the blue is for cold. I've spent a ton of time at the Lowe's in home Depot PEX section and don't remember that being a thing.

I'm not an expert though so maybe somebody else will know.

The pex color code is only to make your work easier. It’s safe to use any color for hot or cold.

/ What is PEX AB? #5