What is that smell yuck. I hate this job.

/ What is that smell yuck. I hate this job. #1  

dex3361

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota L4400-1 HST,FEL, 3x3 remotes, TNT. BX1500 54 mmm
Been having problems with the septic system. I moved into the house in 87 and had installed a correctly installed system when I built the house. It has a 1000 gallon tank that I had pumped out about 2 years ago. It seems as though the leach be will no longer take the amount of water that we are putting into the system and some of it is coming to the top at the lowest point. I studied whether to replace the entire field or add onto it. I compared prices and decided to add a section of Bio-diffusers onto the system. After digging the leach bed up in a few sections it appeared that the pipe was clear and that it just could take the amount of water.

/ What is that smell yuck. I hate this job. #2  
Do you mean you think it is unable to handle the water volume? That's a tough one. You may have to redo your leach bed and it will probably be to a different code standard than 1987.
Dave.

/ What is that smell yuck. I hate this job. #3  
Somethings odd..why did you pump 2 yrs ago, any before?. BTW i have a 1000gal tank and have it pumped out about every 4 to 5 yrs since the install. For the area I live, it's the best way to do it. Not that everybody does.

/ What is that smell yuck. I hate this job.
I decided to add on some and give it a try and when I did I made a distribution box to monitor whether the new system was taking the overflow or not. Here is a pic of the add on field before I started.

Attachments

• HPIM2402a.jpg
    HPIM2402a.jpg
    832.1 KB · Views: 699
Somethings odd..why did you pump 2 yrs ago, any before?. BTW i have a 1000gal tank and have it pumped out about every 4 to 5 yrs since the install. For the area I live, it's the best way to do it. Not that everybody does.