what model to buy?

/ what model to buy? #11  
The B7800 is a good machine but it is a compromise (isn't everything)

I like the machine but, as you are considering spending money, I will tell you what I don't like about my B7800 after 2 years:
1. The "quarter inching valve" 3 Pt. hitch control is not as useful as position control.

2. The hydraulic pump is somewhat underpowered. I have a hydraulic PHD and it works OK but would be better with more flowrate.

3. The loader is limited to 800 pounds or something. Many others are much higher capacity.

4. Also on the 3 pt. hitch; it does not have as convenient an implement connection setup as the 3030 and many other similar sized tractors. The safety chains (turnbuckles, really) bend and/or get stripped threads.

5. Personal preference, but I really would have preferred a shuttle shift to the HST.

The B7800 is lighter weight than some similar powered tractors. This is good for some operations like plowing my driveway, but may not be for tilling.

Before you buy one, look at the differences with the 3030 and compare it with Kioti and Branson for example.

You mention a possible backhoe. I think you will need one using a PTO driven hydraulic pump. I know they exist. Someone on this site has a B7800 and a nice Woods BH so it will operate one.

/ what model to buy?
i now have a l3400 w backhoe,tiller and fel. now i need to find a way to ship it to its home in baja california. im having some pricing shock on the shipping costs from san diego to la paz. my half ton pick up just isnt up to the chalange ( total weight w/all atachments #5000) wish me luck.........thanks again for all the input on this ,kris

/ what model to buy? #13  
krisinak said: